Minigun project

The place to show off your epic printing projects. (Pictures or it didn’t happen!)

Moderator: Elijah

watsonstudios

Minigun project

Postby watsonstudios » Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:17 pm

Here are a few parts from my minigun project I've been working on for about 3 years now (on & off). I've been getting nice prints so far and still tweaking the settings but I'm really close. I use Kisslicer exclusively and love it! These are all printed at .1mm layers. 3 loops, .35 width, 185c, 20% infill, rough supports. I print fairly slow: 20 perimeter and 30 support & infill. It's slow but worth the quality. On the painted parts, it's easier to fill the ridge lines than to sand them off. I use a high fill primer, about 3 coats, and the parts sand great! Don't have to sand much of the PLA at all, just the primer. I have, on occasion, been getting a shift in my X axis. I think it is due to the pull of the filament because the shift is always towards where the reel is (on the right side, facing the machine) I think the motor torque needs to be increased on the X motor, it seems it may skip too easily. These parts really don't show it but it has been happening.

One tip I would like to share is to turn on Z-lift, makes WAY better prints. Mine is set to 1mm. This prevent the tip from dragging across smooth flat surfaces and makes for much cleaner prints.

I guess I can only upload 3 attachments, more to follow....
Attachments
painted3.jpg
painted3.jpg (96.5 KiB) Viewed 23210 times
painted2.jpg
These undersides are not filled or sanded, just painted.
painted2.jpg (114.13 KiB) Viewed 23210 times
painted1.jpg
painted1.jpg (93.85 KiB) Viewed 23210 times

watsonstudios

Re: Minigun project

Postby watsonstudios » Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:21 pm

Here are some unpainted parts. I'm getting very nice surfaces at .1mm.
Attachments
mini06v.jpg
Here's part of the receiver as a test. Came out well I think.
mini06v.jpg (271.46 KiB) Viewed 23209 times
unpainted2.jpg