Even higher speed printing?

Share any mods you have made and the awesome results.

Moderator: Elijah

ccrome

Even higher speed printing?

Postby ccrome » Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:51 pm

Hi all,
I'm waiting for my Type A Machine, so in the meantime I'm thinking about even higher speed printing, perhaps for production purposes. I have a few questions about what the current limiting factors are, and what can be done to speed up the printing process.

I'm a DSP engineer by trade and I can't help but think that things can be improved by using modern control theory to drive all the axes (including the hot end). I have not looked to see what is currently used, but by guess is that it's simply stepper motors with no feedback.

Here are my thoughts anyway:

Hot end: I imagine that if you send filament through the hot end too fast, it will cool down, and the thermocouple feedback loop will always lag the filament. Perhaps this could be improved with a feed-forward component to the control equation so as to maintain a constant plastic exit temperature regardless of extruder speed. This would require a little science to figure out the exact parameters, but may not be too difficult.

Steppers: Why does everybody use steppers as opposed to DC motors with linear encoders and feedback? I've seen threads on this question before, but I've never seen a cogent answer other than, "it's hard". I've done control systems before and know that they can perform very well, but I haven't done one just like this. My suspicion is that a feedback control system with a linear encoder feedback will allow a smaller & cheaper motor to drive the system at higher speeds, at the expense of adding a linear codestrip and linear encoder (just like every $50 inkjet printer in the world -- they can't be too expensive). Of course, there will be some software too ;-). Are the steppers a limiting factor in the system design performance?