Active cooling shroud/fan duct

Share any mods you have made and the awesome results.

Moderator: Elijah

Memnarch1113

Active cooling shroud/fan duct

Postby Memnarch1113 » Wed Apr 22, 2015 11:15 am

Heya folks. I was wondering if anyone has designed a better mount and duct for the active cooling fan. I feel that it's placement on the side of the extruder is a little less than ideal. I've been looking but I've only found ducts for the old kinds of extruders.

Is there any kind of active cooling upgrade for the G2 nozzle?

Sean

Re: Active cooling shroud/fan duct

Postby Sean » Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:12 am

I have been tweaking this design for a few months now... I have it working pretty good. The extruder temp remains stable and it cools the material quicker. My bridging is slightly better but nothing astonishing. I have reduced some edge curling on parts with overhangs that came out poorly before. I upgraded the extruder/rear fan to a Noctua which is much quieter. So the white part that is peeling off a little air flow from the rear fan and sending it to the part is designed to mount to the Noctua and not the standard fan. I am about to upgrade the other fan to the same one (NF-A4x10). The little back lever can shut the cooling air flow off and on. I will post the files once I clean them up a little and get it dialed in with some instructions. For now, I have modeled up the NF-A4x10 fan shroud and posted it to GrabCAD if you want to design something off of it: https://grabcad.com/library/noctua-nf-a ... n-shroud-1.
Attachments
Bottom-Iso.jpg
Underside view of cooling nozzles.
Bottom-Iso.jpg (263.34 KiB) Viewed 1716 times
Side-View.jpg
Side view of front and rear cooling nozzles.
Side-View.jpg (398.9 KiB) Viewed 1716 times

Memnarch1113

Postby Memnarch1113 » Tue Apr 28, 2015 11:39 am

That looks beautiful! Please let me know when it's done, I really want to print it!

Grzyby15

Postby Grzyby15 » Thu May 14, 2015 12:37 am

Interesting stuff. Looks really great!