Uploading from Cura Type A

Discuss Cura Type A, our fork of the Cura slicing software, here. Unstable releases may be made available in this section.

Moderator: Elijah

BillDempsey
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:00 am

Uploading from Cura Type A

Postby BillDempsey » Wed Feb 17, 2016 10:26 am

I have a TAM S1 Pro. It is connected to my gigabit network via Cat 6. I can connect to the printer and upload files using the Octoprint browser interface. Unfortunately, Cura Type A stays at the "Uploading" message forever. I've checked the printer and the file never actually gets uploaded.

Is there something special I need to do in order to upload a file directly from Cura Type A to the printer?
________________________________

Bill Dempsey
3-D printing enthusiast, maker, designer, and general tech geek.
Currently own a Type A Machines Series 1 Pro and Ultimaker 2.
Donated my Ultimaker original and CubeX Trio to my local maker space.

Elijah
Site Admin
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:33 pm

Re: Uploading from Cura Type A

Postby Elijah » Mon Feb 22, 2016 2:31 pm

Hmm.

I'm assuming you went through the whole "add printer, including API key" process...

Does uploading a gcode file directly to octoprint not work under the same circumstances that the Cura direct upload feature not work? That is, if Cura fails, can you then upload a gcode file direct to Octoprint with no failure?

Are you connected to the Series 1 directly over ethernet? If so, try putting a router between you and the machine. You can use the one that makes your Wi-Fi signal. Any router will do. If you don't have a router handy, try and see if a simple network switch will do it.
Elijah Post
Type A Machines

4Crawler
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: Uploading from Cura Type A

Postby 4Crawler » Thu Sep 29, 2016 2:15 pm

I run into upload issues from time to time. Printer on WiFi about 20' from my access point and looks like decent signal stats (-45dbM, 45% quality). If I upload a simple part, 2 round cylinders with hole in the middle, gcode size is ~5.8MB, that works fine. But if I double to 4 cylinders, Cura will display Upload failed message. I see the proper size file on the web interface and it'll often print just fine, although the web interface gets confused on the time remaining. Octoprint log below:

Code: Select all

2016-09-27 17:37:38,007 - octoprint.server.util.sockjs - INFO - New connection from client: 192.168.1.199
2016-09-27 17:37:38,048 - octoprint.server.util.sockjs - INFO - New connection from client: 192.168.1.199
2016-09-27 17:37:38,203 - octoprint.server.util.sockjs - INFO - Client connection closed: 192.168.1.199
2016-09-27 17:48:53,639 - octoprint.server.util.sockjs - INFO - Client connection closed: 192.168.1.199
2016-09-27 17:48:53,674 - tornado.application - ERROR - Uncaught exception GET /downloads/files/local/1inSeatLiftPlain.gcode?ctime=1474998527 (192.168.1.199)
HTTPServerRequest(protocol='http', host='series1-10199.local:5000', method='GET', uri='/downloads/files/local/1inSeatLiftPlain.gcode?ctime=1474998527', version='HTTP/1.1', remote_ip='192.168.1.199', headers={'Accept-Language': 'en-US,en;q=0.8', 'Accept-Encoding': 'gzip, deflate, sdch', 'X-Api-Key': '6AEF626486CE4FA894781A0A3C0C3E17', 'Host': 'series1-10199.local:5000', 'Accept': '*/*', 'User-Agent': 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.3; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/53.0.2785.116 Safari/537.36', 'Dnt': '1', 'Connection': 'keep-alive', 'X-Requested-With': 'XMLHttpRequest', 'Cache-Control': 'no-cache', 'Referer': 'http://series1-10199.local:5000/', 'Cookie': 'JSESSIONID=dummy; session=.eJyrVorPTFGyqlZSSFKyUvIz8i2PcvHKinIJNPLLdcvyDYnKjQzxrIoKdy33y3I09gv3NPALyS73rXK1VarVUcpMSc0rySyp1EssLcmIL6ksSFWyyivNyUGSQTI9yiOsJCkiG6izFgAA1idG.CsxCbg.xO4tlEif6d-nyIb1q-_ccZfu4EI'})
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/tornado/web.py", line 1334, in _execute
    result = yield result
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/tornado/gen.py", line 617, in run
    value = future.result()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/tornado/concurrent.py", line 109, in result
    raise_exc_info(self._exc_info)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/tornado/gen.py", line 620, in run
    yielded = self.gen.throw(*sys.exc_info())
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/tornado/web.py", line 2172, in get
    yield self.flush()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/tornado/gen.py", line 617, in run
    value = future.result()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/tornado/concurrent.py", line 111, in result
    raise self._exception
StreamClosedError
2016-09-27 17:48:53,712 - tornado.general - ERROR - Cannot send error response after headers written
2016-09-27 17:49:29,067 - octoprint.plugins.cura - INFO - Path to CuraEngine has not been configured yet or does not exist (currently set to '/home/pi/Cura'), Cura will not be selectable for slicing
2016-09-27 17:49:44,081 - octoprint.server.util.sockjs - INFO - New connection from client: 192.168.1.199
2016-09-28 00:03:34,101 - octoprint.server.util.sockjs - INFO - Client connection closed: 192.168.1.199
2016-09-28 00:04:07,040 - octoprint.plugins.cura - INFO - Path to CuraEngine has not been configured yet or does not exist (currently set to '/home/pi/Cura'), Cura will not be selectable for slicing
2016-09-28 00:04:11,608 - octoprint.server.util.sockjs - INFO - New connection from client: 192.168.1.199


I'm not sure about the CuraEngine path, it was blank initially, I tried changing to /home/pi/Cura. Is that supposed to be set to something?
Series1-Pro


Return to “Cura Type A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests